Deccan Chargers – Wooden Spoon last year , Champions this year :)

Clickhere for the pics

Cricket is a team game and today we saw just that. On one side you had Jumbo who led from the front for his team, the Royal Challengers but on the other side you had Gilchrist who scored a duck but in the end he had the final laugh as Deccan Chargers were crowned the IPL champions 2009. It was a spirited performance put in by the Royal Challengers who were definitely in the drivers seat half way into the match but the Chargers had saved the best for the last and came up with an all round show to snatch the title from the Challengers. This is IPL (Indian Premeire Leauge) and it was very apt that the Men in Blue won it. Last time too it was the Men in Blue (Rajasthan Royals) and this time it is Deccan Chargers. So what are we looking at next year..Maybe Mumbai Indians: D

Royals were set a very modest target of 144 to chase down which many felt would be easy with the kind of batting line up they had. Start was always going to be crucial. Harris came up with a pacy first over conceding just a run. The Challengers then got some momentum with Kallis playing few shots. They had 20 on the board in 20 balls but then RP, the purple cap holder struck when Kallis went for a pull of a shot and only managed to knock his leg stump out of the ground. That brought the crazy Van der Merwe to the crease and from ball one he started swinging. Symonds was at his sledging best which got Van der Merwe agitated and he struck 2 6’s in the 5th over of Harris. Ojha came on to bowl after the power plays and he struck with his first ball when Pandey managed the thinnest of edges that you would ever see and Gilchrist did the rest. Ojha once again struck in his second over. He deceived Van der Merwe in the air and he got him stumped after he smashed him for a 6 in the previous ball. Bangalore was 69/3 at the end of 10 overs with Dravid and Taylor at the crease.

Strategic breaks always have been the undoing of the batting teams and it was no different today. Gilly’s choice to go with Sharma immediately after the break didnt work out as he went for 9 runs. Harmeent Singh came up with a stunning over. He bowled the Mr Dependable Rahul Dravid around his legs and gave away just 1 run. Pressure was on the Royals but Taylor went after Ojha when he struck a 6 and a 4.That brought the required rate down to 7.5. Gilly comes up with a master stroke yet again. He gets on Symonds who gets Taylor and Kohli of consecutive balls but didn’t manage to get a hattrick . 41 runs were required of the last 30. Pressure was on Boucher and Uthappa. Boucher managed a boundary of the first ball but then played out 3 dot balls and then came the moment. Boucher cut Harmeet Singh and the ball went straight into the hands of Gibbs. Harmeet Singh had a brilliant spell of 4 overs for 23 runs and took 2 crucial wickets. Ojha got Praveen Kumar in the next which saw his quota of 4 overs go for 28 runs and 3 important wickets. The match was in firm grip of the Chargers. Uthappa managed to hit a 6 of Harris. Vinay got right across his stumps and paddled the ball, making good contact but Harmeet Singh ran in from fine leg and holds a stunner inches off the ground, catches win matches, put them down at your peril is the old saying and this young man had held his nerves excellently to hold on. 15 runs were required of the last over. RP had the ball and he just gave 8 runs. It was all over for the Royal Challengers. Poor Kumble who didn’t hide any of his emotions. He was utterly disappointed and he had to be especially after a superb bowling display.

IPL 09 Champions

Earlier Kumble won the toss and decided to field on this all important final. Gilchrist too wanted to field but then he had lost the toss and had to bat first. Kumble yet again came up with a brilliant first over when he had Gilchrist for a duck. He straightaway signaled to the dugout. It was a master stroke from the captain himself. Suman came in and perished a few overs later leaving the chargers struggling and 18/2 .Symonds came out and looked to be aggressive from word go. It could have been worse for the Chargers if Dravid had not dropepd a sitter of Symonds. It was to be seen if Symonds would take advantage of the drop catch. It was looking that way until Kumble brought himself on once again. Kumble slided a wrong ‘un down leg stump, its short and sits up to be pulled but Symonds could not connect at all, the ball hits him under the arm, drops onto his thighs and then lands on leg stump to dislodge the bails. It was one of those freaky dismissals. Deccan Chargers ended with 62/3 at the half way mark.

The Chargers had to get their act together if they had to post a good score close to 160. They managed to get only 39 runs in the first 5 overs after the break thanks to Praveen Kumar’s over of 20 runs. Yet again Kumble proved to be a thorn when he got Sharma and Venugopal Rao and ended up with 4 wickets for just 16 runs. Gibbs carried his bat through 53(48) and didn’t face a single ball in the last over. Chargers managed 143 which was just the par score at this ground but in the end it has to be said Gibbs innings and then a superb Bowling performance clinched it for the Chargers.

Clickhere for the scorecard.

Man of the Match: Anil Kumble


Golden player of the series: Adam Gilchrist


City under 23 players: Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma

Orange Cap (Most runs): Mathew Hayden


Purple Cap (Most wickets): RP Singh


Kingfisher Fairplay Award: Kings 11


One Reply to “Deccan Chargers – Wooden Spoon last year , Champions this year :)”

  1. Hey buddy,
    Nice to see that deccan chargers won the match.Hope INDIA will perform well in ICC twenty-20 world cup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *